Dead Bodies Preserved for Viewing in Buena Park – photos of weird medical museums

Right now we’re ramping up for the Fall term start. It’s tough as I’m not done with all my projects! Sigh. Another professor, my wife and I did make time during the last week to view “Bodies: The Exhibition,” which opened this month. We profs have seen similar exhibits (see below), but not this one. I’ve been sending students to Las Vegas’ Luxor to view this exhibit – now you students can’t use the excuse, “But, ma, the professor TOLD me to go to Vegas this weekend. It’s for class!”

Based on what my students have told me about Vegas, this exhibit is very similar. Anticipate to spend a little over an hour to view. It goes through body divisions, as we do in class: bones, muscles, nervous, cardiovascular, reproductive. Be sure when you get to the sign after seeing female reproductive that you go LEFT to see embryos and fetuses in stages in the womb.

Here’s the info for Buena Park at the old Movieland Wax Museum site:

  • 7711 Beach Blvd.
  • Buena Park, CA 90620
  • Between La Palma Ave and 91 Fwy, just north of Knotts Berry Farm.

http://www.bodiestheexhibition.com/buenapark/

Be sure to ask for student discount. Current Fall Students, if you’re going, let me know before you go for proper credit. You MUST let me know before you go for the credit!

There are actually 3 competing bodies exhibits:

 

While I’m thinking about it, CNN covered some weird medical museums – http://www.cnn.com/2013/05/16/travel/world-medical-museums/index.html –  (with pictures!) take a look at it.

One comment

Leave a Reply

